Finally

Ephesians 6:10, Finally my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of his might.

Every day I pray this verse specifically over my household.  However, it’s fruitless to declare this without first acknowledging that it comes on the tail end of instruction that certainly can’t be carried out without the strength and power of might that can only come from our Lord Jesus Christ.

Obedience to parents, honoring our fathers and mothers, raising our children with the nurture and admonition of the Lord, servitude with reverence and singleness of heart as unto Christ, doing the will of God from the heart as unto the Lord and not unto men, leading without respect of persons….

These are the instructions laid out for us. The big word here is FINALLY.  He said, “Here’s how…”

There is no way, in our own power and strength that we can be the children, parents, servants and leaders that God desires us to be without our full reliance on Him.  In fact, as this passage continues, He tells us to put on the whole armor of God.  This eludes that these are the areas we will be attacked the most.

Father, thank You for the revelation of this today.  I desire to be strong in my parenting skills today, as well as in my service to my family, the church body, and my employer.  Empower me to do, not just better, but Your best, in Jesus Name, Amen.

Leave a comment